My Top Five – July

 1.    Luvju Snacks              I love Loving Earth. Ethically sound, sustainable and organic, their products are choc-full of goodness in more ways than one. I’ve wanted to try their Luvju snacks for ages, but for one reason or another never did. Last time I was at the naturopath, I finally grabbed a couple – AFA, goji and chia; and maqui, acai and cacao. Heart-shaped and packed full of superfoods, nuts and dried fruits, they are delicious, nutritious and provide a nice little boost to get you through the day. There are chocolate versions as well, which I’ve yet to try. At $3.50 a pop though, I think I’ll keep them as an occasional treat.

2.    The Walking Dead    I love zombies, in all their gory glory. So when my boyfriend told me about a TV show centred on a zombie apocalypse, I got excited. Then I started watching, and got obsessed. I think what I love most about the show (aside from the zombies, of course) is the way the characters and their relationships with each other are constantly defined and re-defined throughout the course of each season – ultimately, exploring what happens to people in the face of multiple and repeated traumas. It could so easily have been just another kick-butt, zombie-killing affair, but the creators have obviously chosen the more interesting route and taken the time to intersperse the mayhem with some big questions about morality and civilisation, and how these fit (or don’t, as the case may be) in a world where the old rules no longer apply. Watch it. Now.

3.    The Wellness Warrior – Foodie Friday      I discovered The Wellness Warrior a while back now, and it’s an absolute font of knowledge when it comes to all things holistic and healthy. One of the things I look forward to most is Foodie Friday. Each week blogger Jessica Ainscough introduces and interviews some amazingly creative and inspiring cooks and chefs, each offering a unique and mouth-watering recipe. I often find myself falling into a bit of a cooking rut, and Foodie Friday helpsmake me get excited about cooking all over again.

4.    School holidays        I’m just about to go back to study after a two week break, which has been DIVINE. An extra night in the week to practice yoga; Saturday afternoons baking and experimenting with new recipes (raw carrot cake, anyone? It’syummo!); long, lazy Sundays on the couch watching dvds and reading the papers. Just lovely.

5.    Winter sunshine        I’m really not a fan of winter. I feel the cold terribly; I’m always fending off the threat of chilblains; and my skin turns lovely shades of purple and blue. But occasionally you get one of those gorgeous, cloudless, sun filled days, breaking through all the gloom and rain. It helps to remind me that winter’s not going to last forever. And it’s amazing to see the difference a bit of sunshine makes to people’s moods.

 

Leave a Reply

