It’s time…

The past few months have been hard. But despite the stress, the health issues, the work dramas – or maybe because of them – I’ve noticed a shift start to happen. Instead of moaning about it all, I’ve started asking myself, what have I learned from this? Where has this led me?

And you know what?

I’ve learned A LOT. About myself, about others, about ways to live more simply, to undo some of the harm I’ve been unknowingly inflicting on myself. And all those bad experiences? They’ve turned out to be opportunities to create something new and wonderful in my life.

I’ve had a series of jobs that have either bored or over-stressed me…but they also reunited me with old friends and colleagues, people on my wavelength, people with whom I spent my work days talking yoga, spirituality, food, music, art, health.

Stress mucked up my immune system, and using a particular product from a particular skin care range made my resulting skin issues – now clearly an infection – even worse…but it’s taught (and horrified) me that many of the products we coat ourselves in daily, with claims of being natural, are actually full of toxic chemicals. For example, propylene glycol? It’s found in both my eye cream, and anti-freeze. Gross, right? So I’m really excited to discover that there are so many brands out there thatarenatural, organic, and/or handmade, and that work just as well, if not better, than my old products. Next month I’m even participating in a DIY skin care product workshop – stay tuned for a post all about it!

My doctor still can’t figure out what’s going on with my skin – I’m spent a small fortune on medicated creams, corticosteroids, fungal creams, played around with new (all natural) moisturisers, had blood tests and skin scrapings…the skin scrapings should finally reveal all, I suppose, but in the meantime, instead of waiting around, I’ve been busy making some lfestyle changes with the guidance of my naturopath, to see if I can provide the right conditions for my body to heal itself. Diet-wise, I’m eating more fats, less sugar, almost zero alcohol. I’m dabbling with raw food. I’m working with yoga practices that specifically target the lymphatic and immune system. I now have a job I love and that allows me to get enough sleep. I’m also using coconut oil on my skin again (in addition to a doctor prescribed cream) and, funnily enough, a few days after using it, my skin started to look just the tiniest bit better. Maybe it was just the cream finally kicking it, but it’s a bit of a coincidence, don’t you think?

Anyway, what all the above is trying to say is, I’m happy. I feel good. I’m learning and making mistakes and re-configuring.

It’s necessary.

It’s kind.

It’s time.

Leave a Reply

